Monday, 19 November 2007

The Four Noble Truths 四真谛

The Four Noble Truths
  1. Life means suffering : birth is suffering, aging is suffering, illness is suffering, death is suffering; union with what is displeasing is suffering; separation from what is pleasing is suffering; not to get what one wants is suffering

  2. The origin of suffering is attachment : it is this craving which leads to renewed existence accompanied by delight and lust, seeking delight here and there, that is, craving for sensual pleasures craving for existence, craving for extermination.

  3. The cessation of suffering is attainable : is the noble truth of the cessation of suffering: it is the remainderless fading away and cessation of that same craving, the giving up and relinquishing of it, freedom from it, nonreliance on it."

  4. The path to the cessation of suffering : is the noble truth of the way leading to the cessation of suffering


  • 苦谛 - 说明世间有情悉皆是苦,即所谓有漏皆苦

  • 集谛 - 造成苦的原因,分「」、「」、「」三毒. 推至最後,眾生的本心、佛性、智慧 為「無明」所障敝。

  • 灭谛 - 又名涅槃,明集谛理,断尽烦恼业,则得解脱;

  • 道谛 - 随顺趣向涅槃之道


No comments:

eckhart tolle